Keeping Up With the Vaccinations

Flu season is coming up and people seem to already have the flu before this “season” hits. Everyday in class there is at least one person coughing or sneezing or doing anything that makes you feel like you are going to get sick. Over the past couple weeks I have been excessively washing my hands, gargling, using wet wipes on everything, and yet I still feel like I am coming down with something! I am starting to get the symptoms of sore throat, stuffy nose, cough, and I am so scared that I am going to continue to get worse therefore I did what I absolutely hate doing – I got a shot. Every year I have gotten the flu nasal mist but this year and haven’t actually gotten an actual flu shot in a while. Earlier this summer there was a CNN article stating that the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention advisory committee said the FluMist which is the nasal spray influenza vaccine should not be used this year. The FluMist has apparently “performed quite poorly compared to the injectable vaccine” (Scutti, 2016) and the flu shot was recommended if you wanted a higher chance of avoiding the flu.

Ever since I was little I have always been afraid of shots – obviously no one likes shot but I really hated them. I don’t have a traumatic experience with them but my heart starts beating faster and I turn into a 4 year old child. Even two days ago when I got my shot I was so incredibly scared that I had to get my roommate and my friend to go with me. I know that it is going to be better for me in the long run and it will put my germaphobe-clean freak-wash my hands twice when I get back craziness at ease a little bit. Also, even though I absolutely HATE shots, after I actually get the shot it isn’t too bad (I just rile myself up and think to myself that it is going to hurt more than it really does), I am glad I got the shot and feel accomplished. I would rather get a 5 second shot over a 2 week flu any day.

Leave a Reply

